top of page

Why is it so hard to let people go?

Letting go is so hard

One of the hardest things in life is letting people go. I never want to let anyone go. I often feel like we have come this far so why should we stop now? But sometimes, letting go is the best option.

There are times when my friends and I have grown apart. I used to be that kind of a person that tries to hold on to whatever dying friendship we have. I would often get offended if my friend didn't invest the same amount of effort (but i would day things like don't worry as long as I am your friend our friendship will last forever). Sadly life isn't that simple. We need to let friends go to allow new ones in. We need to let people go if they do not want to be held.

Whenever I go through a phase like this, I want to shout at the person and say see I am letting you go now are you happy? I wish that person / friend could look and say, I am sorry I didn't mean to. But it never happens that way. Ex friends are often so list in their own lives that one dying relationship isn't such a big deal to them.

I never really like the idea of letting go but sometimes it's just something we have to do. So how do we do it in a healthy manner?

  1. Avoid the person for a while. Dipping in and out of that person's life does not help at all. It's okay to take a break from friendships.

  2. Be happy for them. Be happy if they are happy with their new friends.

  3. Remember, it's their life, they can do what they want.

  4. Find new friends, go out and explore new things.

  5. Pray for strength.


You Might Also Like:
Foot Tracks on Sand

CYANNEN

Eat, Explore, Encourage
bottom of page