top of page

Black Girl in China

Welcome to my first travel blog! I am excited to share my fun & crazy experiences with you all.

My first time in Asia was in 2016. I went to Hong Kong for a summer study programme. I really loved and still love Hong Kong. It has a very euphoric atmosphere- the skyscrapers, the mountains the shopping, just everything.  However, mainland China is very different from HK. HK for me is similar to western countries just with a few more Chinese people. The biggest difference between Hong Kong and mainland China is how people behave when they see black people. In Hong Kong, some people stare, not so many. In China however, many people stare. They always look so astonished when they see a black person and start saying “黑人” meaning “black person”.

As a black female, I often get questions about my hair; is it real? Is it fake? Did I do it myself? How do I wash it? Sometimes people start touching my hair (well braids) with or without asking. I have come to acknowledge the fact that I stand out a lot and that I just have to deal with the curiosity. Often, people ask to take pictures (some people ask). It’s always awkward when people start taking pictures without asking. I recently went to Shanghai and on the way, I remember some man taking a picture of me while I was dozing. To be honest, for now I do not mind. I try to put myself in their shoes. Foreigners are frequently asked for pictures because they stand out and look different in this big country. Blonde females are particularly popular because many believe blondes are beautiful. However, I feel black people are also very popular because the colour of their skin is on a different spectrum and many people in China have never seen a black person.

The only problem I have in China are the misconceptions some people have. For example, sometimes people think I do not speak English or that I do not know any Chinese at all and they start talking about me. Sometimes people assume because I am black, I must live in Africa. It’s always difficult to explain to them that despite being African, I live in the west. I am often asked about my family. Whenever I show people pictures of my mixed-race sister they become baffled like how can a black girl have a sister that light. I think, compared to our white companions, black people do have a slightly harder time getting by. For example, at train stations or airports, as a black person you will most likely get your things searched.

Despite all this, I love China. Being here definitely has its advantages. For instance, people can be very friendly. I have made friends on the subway, at parks and even in restaurants. Many people are just curious about foreigners. I would say, if you are not bothered by small things such as, invasion of your personal space, pointing and starring, it is a great place to be. There are plenty of business opportunities so long as you put in the work. China is also very beautiful, mesmerising to say the least.


You Might Also Like:
Foot Tracks on Sand

CYANNEN

Eat, Explore, Encourage
bottom of page