top of page

Loving those that hurt us

This is a really sensitive topic for me because, I have had a few experiences in this area. The first person I ever loved (beyond my mother and grandmother, was my dad). I will not go in too much detail about him for the time being. However, the moments we shared, made me have a lifelong desire to have a stable family when the time arrives.

When I started dating, I wanted to date with purpose. I did not and still do not see the point of casual dating. Like, why invest time in somebody if you do not have real intentions of being with them? It’s point blank WICKED. Anyway, I came across a few people in my life, who I loved dearly. I did not know that some people could be self-centred. I did not know that Christians could also be users. I thought as Christians, we all share a common goal and a common love therefore the chances of me being heartbroken were little. What I failed to realise was that, we are sinful people and naturally, nobody is perfect. Over the short span of my life I have learnt not to trust anybody. My reality has been people making promises they know they cannot keep, people taking advantage of me because they know I love them and sometimes, people deliberately trying to hurt me. These people are: friends, family, people I hold dear to my heart.

One thing I noticed was that, the more people disappointed me, the more my heart darkened. I began to have a negative opinion of people surrounding me, I distanced myself from many people in fear of being hurt again. Until this day, I have a limited number of friends because, betrayal is too painful. Last week, I was reflecting on my life and realised not only did my heart darken, I also became a bitter person. I was upset with God for allowing all those bad things to happen to me. I was upset and bitter for allowing myself to be swayed. I was bitter with so many things. I was not content with anything anymore and my desires were becoming grander by the day. In a period of heartbreak and disappointment, I had lost my connection with God. I was so focussed on loving others and worldly things that I forgot to love God.

Mathew 6:33 “But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.” All I needed to do was trust God. All I need to do is trust and love God. Sometimes we get hurt by those we love because we have so many expectations. Being hurt by those we love is one of the most painful experiences in life. How we respond to those experiences is the determining factor. We can either remain bitter and grow apart from Heavenly Father or, embrace the pain and leave it in God’s Hands. Say Heavenly Father, I trust not mine own feelings, “…in thee do I put my trust: save me from all them that persecute me, and deliver me” Psalms 7:11.

Hope you enjoyed this and comment below if you have any questions. Remember “By serving and forgiving others with real love, we can be healed and receive the strength to overcome our own challenges”. Elder Alonso (Oct 2017)


You Might Also Like:
Foot Tracks on Sand

CYANNEN

Eat, Explore, Encourage
bottom of page