top of page

I am not perfect but, God is still working on me.

In Relief society today, a lovely sister mentioned how previously, in her strive for perfection she had missed important lessons. She dwelt on becoming perfect too much that the journey had become a difficult task. I couldn’t help but wonder if I am like that sometimes.  When I was in sixth form, I could not allow myself to get bad grades. I had to be perfect. Well “perfectly average” as I called it. Average for me meant AAA. When I got my final results BBB, I was devastated to say the least. That was not my “perfectly average” score. I did not know how to cope and ended up being unhappy for a couple of months. 

My spiritual journey has been likewise. When I was investigating the church, I often felt guilty because I was not being a good Adventist. A good Adventist would not accommodate teachings that are contrary to doctrine. Even now as a member of this church (lds) I often feel guilty because I don’t think I am a typical Mormon. I have doubts, I have questions, I can be stubborn sometimes & I am sinful. However, one thing I learnt today is; because of Christ’s atoning sacrifice, I do not need to dwell on my weaknesses. I do not need to be upset that I am not perfect. Christ lives and because he lives, I have the hope that someday I may be perfect like Him. 

As the year draws to an end, one thing I would like to take with me into 2018 is the truth that God is still working on me. God is still working with me. God is not finished with me.  I hope that I continue to develop in my spiritual journey and not remain stagnant. I hope I may not dwell on what I think I should be but on what God wants me to be. Finally, I pray for courage to keep holding on to God’s truth and not man’s. 

Thank you and I hope you all have a merry, fruitful and blessed new year!  

You Might Also Like:
Foot Tracks on Sand

CYANNEN

Eat, Explore, Encourage
bottom of page